Hope (Living on a prayer)

I was recently asked to take part in a Blog-Hop project with some other bloggers who also aim to raise awareness of the realities of life with OCD.

The title we were given was ‘HOPE’.  Here is my little contribution.

 

 

What does hope mean to me?  Good question and one I’ve never really considered before.

An initial thought that springs to mind is that it’s a bit like prayer, but without all the associated religious mumbo jumbo /baggage /connections /horseshit (delete as applicable).

An example of this thought process for me would be when a disaster or tragedy hits the news.

You get the usual well natured god botherers stating how they are going to ‘pray for the victims’, as if only they can bring relief through the act of talking to an imaginary sky fairy.

Us less worthy ‘souls’ are left to do something virtually the same but without the blessing of an old story book or priest … HOPE.

‘I hope the people affected recover’ or ‘I hope that doesn’t happen again’.  Does this mean any less because it has no biblical endorsement? … No, didn’t think so.

The REAL heroes here are obviously not the hopers or the prayers, but the good folk actually DOING something physical to help, be it on the ground in person or by fundraising.

 

Anyway, mini-rant over and back to the word HOPE. 

I hope a LOT of things.

Some of these are just that … hopes.  The type of hope I could easily replace with pray if I was so inclined!

I hope my family enjoy good health and luck, I hope I win the lottery; I hope my football team win on Saturday.

I could pray for these or hope for these or both; won’t make much difference either way.

Luck, chance and, if you believe it, destiny will take care of these things and me talking to myself, the clouds, a statue or any random imaginary being will make absolutely no difference whatsoever.

 

Then there are some REAL hopes.  Hopes that I CAN influence.

I hope I can be healthy, I hope I’m good at my job, I hope people think I’m nice, I hope my friends and family are happy, I hope OCD is understood better in the future, I hope I can recover from this horrible illness that’s ruined my life.

Praying for these will have absolutely zero effect … how can it?  It’s just talk with nothing to back it up.

With REAL HOPE comes real action and real inspiration.

I HOPE I CAN BE HEALTHY – I can’t stop illness or disease coming to my door, but I can best prepare myself to fight it off by living a clean, healthy and active lifestyle.

I HOPE I’M GOOD AT MY JOB – Preparation, study and dedication will set most of us down the right path with this one.

I HOPE PEOPLE THINK I’M NICE – Even the most hardened and cynical of us surely want to be liked, or at least respected.  You tend to get what you serve with this one I guess, for better or for worse.

I HOPE MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY ARE HAPPY – More down to them than us, but our behaviour and influence can certainly bear some fruit in the welfare of those we care for.

I HOPE OCD IS BETTER UNDERSTOOD IN THE FUTURE – IT WILL BE!!  There are a lot of dedicated and good people; professionals, sufferers and carers out there pushing the awareness message home on a daily basis.  I hope in my own little way I can add myself to the bottom of that list.

I HOPE I CAN RECOVER FROM THIS HORRIBLE ILLNESS THAT’S RUINING MY LIFE – I HOPE WE ALL CAN! 

It’s not going to come to us though.  We cannot simply ‘pray’ to get better; hope requires so much more than that.

It requires us giving all we can, learning all we can, being prepared to take the rough with the smooth, dealing with the inevitable knock backs, chasing the best treatments, acknowledging that the system isn’t perfect but that it’s what we currently have and that we have to work with it and try to improve it.

It requires us to accept that we may need to be selfish and think about ourselves first sometimes, even if this feels somewhat alien and uncomfortable.

 

Life is real. 

It can be changed and improved by positive actions and thoughts … or you can live life on a wing and a prayer.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

